Sometimes the best thing you can do as a parent is walk away

I admit it I’m having a truly bad day. I’ve yelled, I’ve lost my mind and I’ve cried and most of it in front of my kids. I’m not a great role model all the time but I am doing the best that I can. It started over something stupid this morning with my husband, which ended in me getting annoyed, us yelling at each other and my twins crying. I took the time to walk away, lock myself in our family bathroom and cry. It didn’t solve anything but it did give us both a chance to cool off and my husband the time to calm the children.

Tonight things have not improved. Once again my husband is at work and I’m with the kids and its witching hour which seems to be getting worse by the day. The twins have decided that they do not want their dinner – again! This is becoming an every night occurence – it doesn’t matter that they’ve loved this meal every other time they’ve had it. So I persisted, nope, not happening. So they cracked it, they’re hungry. So I raised my voice just a little, out of pure frustration, and that just made it worse. I know I should know better but I’m so sick of the daily struggle to get them to eat. I tried a different meal – nope, refusing that too. Typical. So they screamed louder and cried harder and I did the only thing I could do – I walked away. I went into another room where they couldn’t see me and left them sitting in their highchairs, which I know they can’t get out, with bits of their two dinners that they could feed themselves. They calmed within less than a minute and when I poked my head around the corner a couple of minutes later they were feeding themselves what I had left. I went in and left a bit more for each of them and walked away as I didn’t want my anxiety and frustration to make them cry again.

High tensions never help situations. Sometimes the best thing you can do for yourself, and your family is to walk away. Just go into another room, go outside. I think I am a better mother because I know when I should walk away and I do it when I need to.

Leave a Reply

