Social media

So I haven’t been writing. It’s not that I haven’t wanted to, it’s just that life has been getting me down a bit and I have been trying to find ways to make things better for myself and my family.

I do have one major vent though. Why is it that people think they can be so unkind over social media? In the last few days I have seen some horrible behaviour by adults because of a simple difference of opinion. Do we all seem to forget that we are talking to real people? Or do we think that just because we’re not saying it to that persons face that it is not going to hurt? I’ve had a few nasty things said to me over facebook in the past which have upset me and in the last few days I’ve received a couple of messages over something that was well and truely out of my control telling me it was my fault. And I took that hard. What I took even harder were comments made by one particular person who went out of their way to attack not only individuals because they had a different opinion but then whole groups of people. When did this become ok?? I’ve seen this happen previously here and there but this was my first time being in the middle of it. And honestly it took me a couple of days to get over it and move on. Facebook, twitter, blogs, they have no inflection; you can’t tell if someone is joking or not sometimes. You can’t see when you have hurt another person. And you can’t see how many other people you are hurting by making broad generalisations. Social media can be great for many reasons, but I think “trolls” (as they have been deemed) are the one thing that puts many of us off, including myself.

Leave a Reply

