My list of must haves when you’re expecting twins!

A friend asked me late last year to talk to a friend of hers who had just found out she was having twins.

I happily said yes and she asked me lots of questions and I created a list for her of all the items that we needed and that we bought to get us through the first 6 months so I thought today I would share that. I’m sure theres lots more things that people buy but we were on a strict budget so we got the bare essentials! Almost all our items came off ebay and I’ll do a post about this later. The only things we bought new were the car seats (don’t buy second hand as you don’t know if they have been involved in an accident!), the highchairs (we got them at 40% off which ended up being a similar price to an expensive second hand one on ebay), the pram (it is possible to get twin ones on ebay but we decided to save and buy this new) and of course dummies, bottles and the teats.

* Twin pram
* Car seats x 2
* Cots x 2
* Baby bouncers x 2 – these were my life savers in the first few months (we had the very basic ones)
* Dummies – if you choose to use them, I recommend them with twins, the sucking calms them often when you can’t – at least 4 (2 for home, 2 for in the car/pram)
* Breast pump – if you choose to breastfeed and wish to express there are double ones available and I have heard good things about the Medela range
* Baby bottles and teats – if you are choosing to bottle feed you will need at least 8. It’s also a good idea to have some just in case you need to top up with formula or are expressing at any stage.
* Bottle steriliser – we use one that plugs into the wall and takes 8 bottles at a time (you can also get a microwave version) – recommend the Avent one
* Bottle warmers – we got 2 and they were the best things ever, I still use them now for every feed. They always get the bottle to the right temperature and you don’t have to think about it – recommend the Avent ones
* Teat cleaner & bottle washer – don’t buy the cheap ones they break quickly when you’re using them so often!!
* Formula dispenser – I had 2. If your planning a day out we used to fill the boys bottles with boiling water in the morning and then would measure the right amount of formula into the different compartments of the dispenser and add when needed. Boiled water stays warm for a good majority of the day and my boys learned to drink room temperature bottles anyway!
* Nappy bag – a decent sized one! You will be carrying around a lot of crap!!! 
* Change table – if you choose to use one. Ours has 3 open compartments under the change table part and then a couple of drawers under that. We still use it now even though one of our munchkins try to roll off sometimes or crawl up the wall. Everyone told me to use our bed or the floor but I didn’t listen. I think having a change table has saved me a lot of back pain!!
* Chest of drawers – to keep all their clothes in – we have never used a closet as baby clothes fold better than they hang.
* Nappy bin – nappies smell awful and there was no way I was going to the bin every few hours. We’ve got the tommee tippee version and its awesome – we still use it
* Musical mobile – we started off with 1 as our boys slept in the same cot for the first 3 months. It was just basic with coloured toys and music. Once they moved to separate cots we bought a second one that has a projector in it that puts butterflies on the roof (keeps them entertained now that they’re older when they refuse to go to sleep!)
* Teethers – we got both the rings and ones that look like toys – my boys started teething really early and they liked different teethers at different times – we have ended up with quite a few!!
* Bowls, spoons, storage cups – once they start eating you will need lots and lots! I suggest you make in bulk and freeze. We still do it. Ask for help and recipes when you get to this stage!!!!!!!!
* Excersaucers – they look and sound like space ships!! The are round play stations that you sit the kids in the middle of. They can’t use them until I think it was around 4 months, maybe later. But once they were out of their bouncers these became my life saver. We bought two different ones and switched the boys over to keep them entertained.
* Baby bath – I know people say use the sink but seriously buy one! Ours has an insert thing for when their baby babies so you don’t have to hold them up. We put it on our dining table which saved my back and meant I could have both baby bouncers next to me and all the other crap around me without being crowded.
* Cot sheets – buy 6 or 8. Trust me you need to change them often at the start! Also buy 4 of the plastic ones (I cant think of what theyre called but they stop the mattress from getting wet)
* Newborn nappies, baby wipes, baby powder, baby bath wash, nappy rash cream – stock up!
* Baby clothes – start with 0000 (don’t bother with 00000 – my babies were early but we just put them in the 0000 and they were a little too big, just made them look cuter!). Don’t overbuy! I think we had about 20 jumpsuits in 0000 and that got us through until they were in 000. Oh and lots and lots of socks!!! And a few hats/beanies. You need to keep their heads and feet warm.
* Baby wraps – buy lots and lots, you wrap them every time they sleep and they’re great to put on your shoulder for when your burping bubs, etc.
* Baby sleeping bags – once they can get out of their wraps its best to put them in sleeping bags as sheets aren’t safe. I think they changed over about 2-3 months. Buy them from target/best & less – the grobag ones sold at baby stores and toys r us are really, really overpriced!
* Baby towels and washers – you don’t need the towels with the hoods, they’re expensive and pretty useless until they’re much older. The washers we used for everything – cleaning up vomit, washing them in the bath, as bibs, and lots of other things!
* Baby bibs – we have tonnes of them. When their newborns the cloth ones are best. Once they start real food I suggest getting some that are plastic that have a scoop on the end and also some that are plastic on the back and material on the front (great for once they’re trying out drinking water and it goes everywhere!)
* High chairs x 2 – ours are from target and adjust in a multitude of ways and I love them. We got given an expensive one from someone second hand and got rid of it because it was useless and bought these instead
* Maternity pillow – buy whichever version works for you! I have two, one I used through my pregnancy and after to help me sleep which I then used to lean against when feeding in the middle of the night – it’s a long round pillow. The other one I have is a belly bean which I sometimes still use between my knees as my hips still hurt some days! Otherwise there are twin feeding pillows but I never got one of those
* Safety stuff for once they start moving – don’t even get me started on everything you’ll need to baby proof the house!
* Play pen – ours all comes apart so we use it to put the kids in from birth so they couldn’t roll away while I wasn’t looking, but we also use it for blocking off things like the Christmas tree
* Play mat – we have a large one on our lounge room floor. The room is carpeted this just provides extra cushioning for when they’re rolling and eventually crawling, walking and falling! They come in bright colours which also entices the kids to get moving and focus
* Baby toys – you’ll end up with hundreds! The only ones I recommend for when they’re little are rattles (our rattles are the shape of a circle if that makes sense!). Once theyre grasping the Lamaze toys are the best. We’ve got quite a few and highly recommend them – We’ve got a dinosaur and dog that live in our car and a horse that lives at home. Soft blocks have a multitude of uses and our boys currently love us building towers with them that they knock down!
* Blankets – for use in the pram when you’re out, in the car, when out and about to put on the ground for babies to play on or to change on. Also to use on top of wraps on really cold night – only if they’re tucked in really well into the cot
* Baby monitor – once they’re out of your room you’ll still want to be able to hear them. We never got ones that attached to the cot or had a video. Unless there’s a medical reason to have one don’t get it – it will make you nuts! We used it for a few months once they were in their own room and still put it on if we go outside and they’re napping.
* Dummy clips – there will come a time when dummies start vanishing – they get thrown out of prams, cots and lost. And there’s nothing more annoying than having to get up in the middle of the night and try to find a dummy because someone can’t settle themselves again without it! You won’t need it until about 4-6 months.

There is lots more you can buy and you no doubt will buy but this is a good starting reference point.

Leave a Reply

