Recipe – Tomato and Capsicum Soup

So I managed to score some red capsicums and decided I would make soup.  Now I have never made soup before and so I went onto taste and searched to see what I could find.  There were a few receipes that sounded nice but none really used up the ingredients I had so I deceided to make up my own, and the result was delicious!  I only used what I already had in my house as I am trying to use up what’s in my cupboards and save some money.  This receipe has made 8 serves, which I have put into the freezer.

Ingredients –

* 6 red casicums

* 4 tins crushed tomatoes (any type would be fine, or fresh, this is just what I had)

* 1 red onion & 1 brown onion (you could use 2 of either variety)

* 2 tablespoons crushed garlic (or a couple of cloves of fresh garlic)

* 2 chorizo sausages

* 1 litre chicken stock

Directions –

* Cut up all the onion and capsicum, small pieces work best

* Fry the garlic in onion in a little oil in a frypan

* Transfer the garlic and onion to a large pot

* Add in capsicum, tomatoes, and chicken stock

* Cook over a medium heat for 20-30 minutes until capsicum is nice and soft

* In the meantime cook the chorizo’s in the frypan

* Once cooked chop the chorizo’s into small pieces

* Add the chorizo’s to the soup and cook for a further 5-10mins

* Pour into a blender and blend to your desired consistency

IMAG2132

My hubby likes a chunky soup so I only blitzed it for about a minute which leaves some of the capsicum, tomato and chorizo in nice small bits.  You can blend for longer and it will result in a lovely smooth consistency.  It was deliciously yummy and I enjoyed it for lunch with a couple of pieces of buttered bread.

Variations –

* Remove the chorizo and use vegetable stock to make this a vegetarian dish

* Add some chilli for a little kick

* Use a sausage, plain or a speciality one, cut into slices and just put on top after the soup is cooked

* Add some smoked paprika to enhance the yummy smokey flavour

* Cook the capsicums over an open flame before chopping to add a lovely charred flavour to the soup

Leave a Reply

