Recipe – Dukkah

So the other night we ran out of Dukkah.  To me this is just a disaster.  And in the interests of vowing not to go to the supermarket and in all honesty not being able to afford to buy it as its quite expensive, I went on the hunt for a receipe to make it.  Unfortunately Dukkah is made with hazelnuts (or so the receipes tell me) and I do not have these in my cupboard.   I do however have pistachios – a hidden stash I found when reorganising my pantry, that I had previously used for making macaroons (I love macaroons!!).  So I set about finding a receipe using pistachios and I found one.  Hip hip hooray.  But I of course had to change it to suit what I had in my cupboards so here is what I came up with.  If you were making this from scratch I would not consider this a budget receipe, but if you had just a handful of pistachios or cashews you could easily divide this receipe in 4 and make a small amount.

Ingredients

* 1/2 cup finely chopped pistachios

* 1 cup ground pistachios (I had previously done this for making macaroons in my spice/coffee grinder – yes I own ALOT of appliances)

* 1/2 cup unsalted cashews, finely chopped

* 1 cup sesame seeds

* 4 tablespoons ground corianders seeds

* 4 tablespoons ground cumin seeds

* 2 teaspoons ground black pepper

* 4 teaspoons salt

Directions

* Toast the sesame seeds in the frypan over a low or medium heat until they are nice and golden (do this when the kids are asleep or otherwise preoccupied, they can pop and you don’t want to burn the seeds or the kids which does happen quite quickly)

* Add in all the other ingredients except the salt and cook on a low temperatue for a further 1 minute

* Take frypan off the heat, stir through the salt, allow mixture to cool

* Store in an airtight container

Dukkah is great with a good quality olive oil, balsamic vinegar and bread, but it is also a lovely crust for lamb roast, cutlets and salmon.

IMAG2276

3 thoughts on “Recipe – Dukkah

  1. Pingback: Meal planning for the week | KCMS

Leave a Reply

