Recipe – Pumpkin Soup

So on Wednesday I had an off day, hubby went off to work and the kids went to bed and I needed to keep myself busy. So I started on my pumpkin soup. And I may have gotten a bit carried away!! It almost didn’t fit in the pot – oops!

Ingredients –

* 2 butternut pumpkins

* 6 granny smith apples

* 3 small onions

* 3 -4 cloves of garlic

* 2 litres of vegetable stock

Directions –

* Set oven to 180 degrees

* Peel and chop everything into chunks

* Put the pumpkin in a roasting pan and drizzle some oil over it, tossing with your hands

* Bake in the oven for approx 30 mins

* Pull out of oven and turn / stir the pumpkin

* Add in the apple, onion and garlic

* Bake in the oven for another 30 mins

* Meanwhile put your vegetable stock into a stock pot (I used cubes so I heated it for a few minutes to dissolve them in water)

* Add everything from the roasting pan to the pot

* Bring to the boil and simmer for up to 10mins (depending on how hard your pumpkin still is)

* Pour in batches into a blender / food processor or use a stick mixer to blend to a smooth consistency

Note –

I don’t think my pumpkin were quite large enough for the amount of liquid I used so my soup turned out quite watery.  So I put it all back in the soup pan and grated one potato into the mixture.  You need to reheat the soup for up to 10mins to ensure the potato is cooked.  As an alternative you could also make a roux, use cornflour, add more pumpkin or add sweet potato to thicken the soup.

You can also add salt and pepper in before roasting – I never put salt or pepper in my recipes simply because my boys may eat in and I don’t believe at such a young age they need that in their food.  Its much easier for hubby to add it when he eats it because once its in I can’t take it out!

 

p

3 thoughts on “Recipe – Pumpkin Soup

    • Hi Vanessa, thanks – according to my husband it tastes great (I’m not a fan of pumpkin!). Yes butternut pumpkin is also known as butternut squash – for some reason in Australia and New Zealand we call it Butternut Pumpkin 🙂

  1. Pingback: Meal planning for the week | KCMS

Leave a Reply

