Recipe – Carrot Soup

Yes I admit it, I am currently soup obsessed! It’s been freezing cold here lately and soup is one of those lovely warm you up meals that you can make in bulk and everyone can enjoy at any time of day. I make a big batch and freeze in a meal size portions so that we can grab some whenever we feel like it.

We had a bag and a half of carrots sitting in the bottom of the fridge staring at me and after jumping onto the taste website and putting carrots in the search field I got lots and lots of recipes. I considered making carrot cake which I personally love but having made muffins for the boys and pikelets last week my freezer is pretty well stocked with treats. Then I came across a carrot soup recipe. I was intriguied, I have actually never heard of carrot soup, but why not. So I endeavoured to make it and of course it didn’t quite work for me so I changed it and this is what I came up with.

Ingredients –

* 1.5kg of carrots

* 2 leeks (you could use onions)

* 3 litres of vegetable stock

* 2 tablespoons of ginger (I have a jar I keep in the fridge but you could use approx. 2cm of fresh ginger grated)

Directions –

* Preheat oven to 180 degrees

* Peel and chop carrots and leek into finger sized pieces

* Put leek and carrots into a large roasting pan and drizzle with olive oil

* Roast for approx. 30-40mins turning once (you want to get that lovely roast flavour)

* Transfer to a large saucepan with vegetable stock and ginger

* Bring to the boil, then reduce to a simmer, cooking for approx. 20 mins

* Blend to a smooth consistency with a stick mixer or blender

Notes – If you want a bit of a kick, add more ginger; if you want it creamier add some cream but only to the portion you are eating (it will not freeze well for some reason); and of course add salt and pepper to taste.

c

Leave a Reply

