Volunteer Week

So its volunteer week, a celebration of Australia’s many, many volunteers. Personally I am a volunteer for a large organisation known as AMBA, Australian Multiple Birth Association, which I have been doing for over a year now. I also volunteer locally, bringing together mums in my local suburbs who all have the same parenting style.

I started out volunteering in a small capacity, with my local multiple birth club, putting together our newsletter.  From there I did other roles and eventually found myself helping to manage the AMBA facebook page.  In the last 6 months I have taken over as administrator of the AMBA page, with guidance and support from my predecessor, who is always there to lend me a helping hand when I need it.  I tell you all this two reasons really, the first being that a volunteer changed the course of my life by offering me the chance to help run such a wonderful page, and not only has that made me a better person but it has fulfilled my life in more ways than my paying jobs ever did.  The second is for a very simple reason, volunteering is an amazing experience, you don’t need to invest a lot of time or skills, but you do need to want to be there.  And my message to you is to keep trying until you find something that fits.

I have the joy of helping people everyday whom I have never met but some of which I have made the most amazing connections with.  I have twin boys who are the light of my life and my time is limited, so with a little help I found a role which allows me to help people in my own time and in my own way.  I dedicate hours every day to answer questions, direct people to the right resources and help put together ideas in the background, all of which make a real difference to mums and dads of twins, triplets and more.

Volunteering makes a difference in not only the people you helps lives, but also your own.

volunteer-week

3 thoughts on “Volunteer Week

  1. Pingback: Celebrating “Movers” in National Volunteer Week | Raising Explorers

Leave a Reply

