Recipe – Chicken in balsamic vinegar, lemon and basil

So I have been making this dish all of my adult life.  It’s one of those ones that has stayed with me.  I remember getting the original recipe for a magazine or a book somewhere and cooking it with my mum back when I lived at home and when I make it it always makes me feel good.  These days I have no recipe, I actually don’t even have measurements so I’ve done my best to work it out for you.  For us this would serve 4 as we only have small meals but this may only serve two in your house (we generally have half a chicken breast each).

Ingredients –

* 2 chicken breasts, diced

* 1 brown onion, diced

* 2 tablespoons of crushed garlic (or 2 garlic cloves chopped finely)

* 4 tablespoons finely chopped basil

* 2 small lemons or 1 large – grate the zest and keep the lemons for juice

* 3-4 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar

Directions –

* Heat olive oil in a fry pan, add in chicken, onion and garlic and cook stirring frequently

* Add basil, lemon zest, lemon juice and balsamic vinegar

* Cook stirring for 2-3 minutes

* Taste test – depending on the size of your lemons you may need to add more lemon juice or balsamic vinegar

* Serve with spaghetti or pasta

3 thoughts on “Recipe – Chicken in balsamic vinegar, lemon and basil

  1. Pingback: Meal planning this week | KCMS

Leave a comment