Recipe – Pumpkin and corn muffins

So when we had roast on the weekend my husband had pumpkin (I don’t like it), so I had half a pumpkin sitting in my fridge which I needed to use up.  I wasn’t sure what to do with it so I decided to give some muffins a try.  I couldn’t find a recipe that I had ingredients for sitting in my house so I decided I would just make my own!  The result was a hit with hubby and the kids.

Ingredients –

* 1/2 kent pumpkin (ours weight approx. 500g before peeling and seeding)

* 1 can corn

* 2 cups self raising flour

* 3 eggs

* 1/2 cup milk

* 1 cup shredded cheese

Directions –

* Preheat oven to 160 degrees

* Peel, deseed and grate the pumpkin

* Put flour into bowl, adding pumpkin and corn, tossing them to coat

* In a separate bowl whisk eggs and milk

* Add eggs and milk to flour mixture, stirring well

* Add cheese and stir again

* Spoon into muffin trays

* Cook for 15-20 mins in the oven

Notes –

* This made 48 mini muffins, but would make roughly 24 regular muffins

* As an alternative swap the pumpkin for sweet potato

* Add salt and pepper before baking

Leave a Reply

