Routine

One of the things that having kids has taught me is how to stick to a daily routine.  Although my routine isn’t complicated it has certainly helped me in the last year to be able to manage my time a bit better and to always know in my mind what was coming next.  It also helps me avoid some of the meltdowns that occur when the boys are over tired or hungry.  I think whether you have one child, twins, or a whole bunch of kids that you need to find what works for you and your family.  I am lucky that the boys were almost always on the same schedule from birth and I was able to work out a routine from what they wanted when.  I did let them dictate in the first 6 months – they were my first children, I honestly had no idea what I was doing and I didn’t have anything else to do other than look after them.  It worked for us but I know a lot of people try to make their babies fit into their own routine which can be difficult.

Although we do go out quite a bit, when we are home we stick to the routine and I do plan our trips out quite often around nap time.  Routine keeps me sane and it has certainly evolved over time.  The boys have been on this routine from about a year old when they decided that they no longer wanted two naps a day.  At the time I was devastated as I loved the break both in the morning and in the afternoon.  We tried to get them to stick with two naps a day for longer but it just wasn’t working.  Some keep two naps a day until 18 months, but I’m just hoping that we get to keep 1 nap a day until at least the age of 2, hopefully even longer but who knows.  I’m not strict on our routine but we do follow this generally (give or take half an hour) and it really works for us.

8am – time to get up (the boys often wake at 7.30 and will chat quietly until 8am, sometimes they even sleep in!)

8.30am – breakfast

9.30am – milk

11.30am – lunch

1pm – nap for 2hrs

3pm – snack

4.30pm – dinner

5.30pm – milk

5.45pm – bath & brush teeth

6pm – story & bed

They are days when we skip the bath and the boys go to bed earlier as they are just too tired.  Most days I can still hear someone talking at 7pm but I’ve found that keeping them up any later just results in them getting frustrated and upset.  They seem to enjoy the quiet time in their cots, listening to their music and chatting with themselves and each other.

5 thoughts on “Routine

  1. I think that the key is finding what works for you and your family and sticking with it. Everyone has the routine that suited them but it won’t necessarily work for you. I love that they sleep so late in the morning – bonus !!!
    Have the best day !
    Me

  2. I’m not one for a strict schedule, but I found a loose routine great!! I can’t believe your boys sleep in so late.. What I would do for a sleep in right about now, oh and a 2 hour nap would be glorious!! x Karen #TeamIBOT

Leave a Reply

