Entertaining toddlers when your sick

Unfortunately I’m unwell at the moment, very unwell.  And it is quite hard to look after twin toddlers when your sick.  I am lucky to have my husband home in the mornings so he was able to run around after them for me today, but this afternoon I’m all on my own.  So I thought I would share some ideas on how to entertain toddlers (1-2 year olds) when your sick.  This can be a tricky age as there isn’t many activities that they are capable of doing on their own,  so here is a few ideas…

* Ask your partner to take a day off work if you are really unwell – my husband offered today but because his shifts are so few and far between I sent him off to work.  Silly me!!!

* Ask someone for help.  A family member, a friend, a neighbour.  We don’t really have that luxury but if you do now is the time to use it!  They could take the kids for a walk, or just play with them while you lie down.

* Honestly if you need to take a nap, lie on the couch, close all the doors so the kids will be safe and have a nap.  You will wake up if the kids scream and you would be surprised at how much better you will feel if you have a 20min snooze.

* Busy bags are a great idea (I haven’t finished mine – bad timing!).

* Grab a whole lot of balls, lie on the couch and roll or throw them across the floor, my kids love crawling after them and bringing them back and I have a few extra so the ones they don’t bring back don’t matter.

* Sit on a chair or on the floor next to a pile of books and attempt to read to them – if they’re anything like my boys they will flick through them before you have a chance to read them but it does quietly entertain them for a little while.

* Lie on the floor and let the kids climb all over you.  One of my kids loves to jump on me (or should I say hurl himself at me), so that keeps him entertained.

* Turn on one of your kids favourite DVD’s, sit them down with a snack and enjoy the peace (or noise but at least they’re entertained!!).

* Put the kids in the bath, add in some extra bubbles, the bath toys and maybe even a drop or two of food colouring – if you top up the water to keep it warm they can have a wonderful play in the bath and all you have to do is sit and supervise (and throw the toys back in when they push them out).

* Snuggle yourself under a blanket and get another one for each child (their size), my kids like it when I tuck them in so they can pull it off.  Play peek-a-boo with them, throwing the blankets over their heads and watch them create their own fun.

* Grab a colander and some pipe cleaners and let the children figure out how to thread them through – great for fine motor control.

* Have a picnic dinner on the floor – it can be hard to lift up kids into their high chairs when your unwell so have a mini picnic for dinner.  Grab some cut up fruit, savoury biscuits, cheese and sultanas and let your kids enjoy.

* If your kids like to organise – one of mine does, cook the kids a handful of vegetables, give them a plate that has defined sections or a muffin tray and let them sort their food.  Easy dinner and play at the same time.  I sit mine in their highchairs and this can extend dinner time to an hour while you sit in a comfortable chair and try to feel better.

* Give the kids a roll of toilet paper or a box of tissues and let them go for it.  My boys love pulling out all the tissues and putting them back in, and you can still use them once they’ve finished playing with them.

* Bring out a toy the kids haven’t played with before or those that have been packed away for a while.  As the toy is new it will keep them entertained for quite a while!

Your kids will generally know when you’re not well and will hopefully be a little less demanding and give you extra cuddles!!  If it really comes down to it an early bed time will not kill them.  Put them in their cot with a dummy, soft toy or whatever comforter they use, and let them chat away.  If they are unsettled you can sit on the floor (or lie on the floor) and chat to them.  Mine love rhymes and songs (that I make up).

Leave a Reply

