A little bit of organisation

I have to be honest I’m sick of the boys being sick. They are very sooky and it’s starting to really get on my nerves!!!  To top it all off I am not feeling 100%.  But there’s no time for lying down and feeling sorry for myself, the boys need extra attention, and things need doing around the house.

I visited Ikea earlier in the week and bought some storage boxes so that I could start a very long process of sorting out some areas of my house.  So far I haven’t been able to do much but I have made a start and it feels good to start to get some things organised.  My dymo label is proving to be very useful, as it means no one will be able to complain that they don’t know where something lives!!

I find it really hard to stay organised and tidy now that we have two toddlers running around the house.  I’ve never been the most clean and tidy person but I do like certain things to be organised and because we moved into this house when I was pregnant I never really got around to organising everything the way I would like it.  Over the last couple of years I’ve worked on small areas and it’s always given me great satisfaction to get something done.

So all I can say is start small.  If you want to organise your whole house, just a room or even a cupboard, trust me start small.  If you give yourself big goals and can’t accomplish them in a short time frame it can really bring you down and you lose momentum.  Where as if like me you give yourself small tasks that can be done in a short space of time, you are much more likely to get them done and you will feel a great sense of satisfaction.  And that can make you motivated to move on to the next area of your house and to eventually tackle all the bigger jobs.

As you move through each of your tasks really look at what you have and decide if you really want to keep it and if you do where it’s new home will be.  You don’t want to be making more work for yourself by making piles and piles that then seem daunting to try and sort through to find homes for everything.  It can be a long process but trust me it is all worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

