Fun me time!!

So in the last couple of weeks I have been treating myself to some fun things just for me.  Something I have not done since I have the boys.  It has been fun and I’ve learnt a lot!

So what have I been doing?  Classes on baking and decorating of course!  Yes my idea of fun is a class, but it involved food so that’s ok right??  I’ve done 3 and I would love to do more in the future if I can find some money in our budget.  These were luckily paid for with money I received from family for my birthday months ago that I’ve been saving and saving not knowing how to spend.

The first one I did was on decorating cupcakes with fondant.  I think they came out rather well and I have been practising my roses since and getting better and better. 

IMAG4718 

Then I did one of covering cakes with fondant – that was challenging but I think the result is awesome!  The problem is now I don’t want to eat the cake, but hubby is very keen!!!

IMAG5034

Those two classes were done locally and run at one of the councils community centres so that was great.  The last one I did a couple of days ago I actually bought through Scoopon.  I’ve dealt with them before making small purchases (kitchen stuff I probably didn’t need but had to have!) but this was the first time I’d booked a class and it was a much easier process than I thought. 

It was run through Stotts College, a Cupcake Masterclass.  We were taught how to make the perfect cupcake, about buttercream icing and my favourite part which I wasn’t expecting was on how to create chocolate decorations.  My technique with piping icing needs some practice but I did quite well with the chocolate filigree

.IMAG5053

Now I’m trying to come up with reasons why I need to make cake and cupcakes so I can practice!!  The boys birthday is still 6 months away so I have plenty of time to master my skills and create something awesome (I hope).

Leave a Reply

