Baking and organising

So as I previously mentioned I have done a few cake decorating classes lately and really enjoyed it.  So at home I have been practising my skills the last few days and think I am really starting to get the hang of it.  Now I just need a special occasion to put all my skills to the test, luckily there are a few birthdays in my family coming up so there may be a few cakes and cupcakes to come!  I won’t be telling anyone as I don’t want to put any pressure on myself, but if I get the time I might bake a couple of treats.

When I was baking cupcakes the other day I got so frustrated at my supplies simply because I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted and I didn’t have it organised enough.  So I set about to reorganise my decorating supplies and I think it come out quite well.  Geez I love my label maker!!

IMAG5418

Organisation can be as simple or as complicated as you want to make it.  I like to use plastic containers and label them and I do the same for storing my bulk meals in the freezer.  There are a lot of containers in my house (I may have a problem) but I always seem to be running out!!

Now I can see clearly where everything is and my husband will know where to put things back!!  It also helps as it makes it so much easier to know what we have got.  My pantry has ALOT in it.  And I have been trying to use up odds and ends here and there but I can honestly say that I really don’t feel like I am making a dent when I look at my pantry, but I do see the difference in my grocery bill as it means we only have to buy meat and vegetables to make a meal which is great!

So when I was in my baking mode the other day I decided to try and use up the rice flakes that have been sitting in their for 12 months.  I originally bought them as I was told they were a great alternative to rice for babies because they have a different texture.  My boys hated them and they have sat unused since.  I googled and tried to find a recipe my family would eat to use them up.  And I admit it was difficult but I did eventually find one and made a slice for hubby.  It turned out pretty well but the problem was that it used 2 tablespoons of condensed milk and what was I going to do with the rest of the tin?  So I decided to make a Muesli Slice and not waste the condensed milk (I hate wasting food!).  I’ll share my recipe with you soon!

Leave a Reply

