Recipe – Apple muffins

I’m always on the look out for ways to use up what I have without having to buy a whole lot of new ingredients, so I adapted this recipe for apple muffins from some other muffin recipes I found and I must say they taste yum!

Ingredients –

* 2 1/2 cups self-raising flour

* 1 tablespoon caster sugar

* 3/4 cup milk

*  1 egg

* 1/2 cup vegetable oil

* 3/4 cup brown sugar

* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

* 1 cup apples (finely chopped or pureed)

 

Directions –

* Preheat oven to 160°C. Spray two mini muffin trays or two regular muffin pan trays.

* Combine the flour, caster sugar and brown sugar in a bowl.

* Add milk, egg, oil and vanilla. Mix until just combined.

* Mix in apples.

* Spoon mixture evenly between pans (you want to make each spot about 3/4 full).

* Bake for 10 minutes mini muffins or 15 minutes for regular muffins.  When you insert a skewer it should come out clean.

* Stand in pan for 5 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

 

Notes –

* I make mini muffin size for my twin toddlers as they are perfect size for a snack.

* You could adapt this recipe to use other fruit such as pear, blueberries or banana.

* These freeze so well, I freeze them in a container and take a couple out in the morning and they are defrosted in time for afternoon snack.

2 thoughts on “Recipe – Apple muffins

  1. How old are your twin boys. Mine are 16 months. One is a good little eater and the other is hopeless. Will definitely give these a try 🙂

    • Hi Glenda, my boys are now 18.5 months. They are good eaters but they have been through stages of barely eating and it was difficult. Feel free to message me over on my facebook page if you want to chat more about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

