Parenting

I’ve been doing a bit of reading the last few day (online, despite my stack of books waiting to be read) and I never cease to be amazed by how different everyone’s opinion is and how when someone doesn’t agree it can turn into an argument over nothing.

As you would know we are going through our own rough period and some days it is extremely difficult.  I am positive everyone has gone through these stages or will do in the future.  It’s not easy and it does sometimes leave you questioning your decisions, looking back on your past and wondering what if.  I love my little family and I honestly can say I wouldn’t trade it for the world but that doesn’t mean its perfect.  It’s hard, damn hard.

I’ve lost my temper a few times over the last week and honestly felt like I was going to snap.  Unfortunately I’ve yelled at my kids and although I do feel bad when they cry, when they are doing something dangerous it’s necessary.  Not everyone sees it that way though and I have seen far too many people getting into arguments over the way you ‘should’ parent.  What I do in the privacy of my own home is not for anyone else to judge (unless it is abuse in which case the police should be involved) and to be honest I’m a bit tired of hearing that ‘my child never listens to me’ nonsense.  Yep my kids frequently ignore me, it doesn’t mean I’m just going to give up because eventually it’s going to sink in and they will learn.  And when they are touching power cords or anything else that could potentially hurt them they will definitely get yelled at.  My boys are smart enough to know that there are things they are not allowed to touch, although we are still going through the curious toddler stage they are well aware that some things are off limits.  And of course they are going to test those limits again, they want to make sure the same rules still apply.  Every few weeks one of the boys will toddle off to a power cord, get down low and look at it, reach his little hand out and look at me.  He is checking to see if I’m watching, which I usually am, and to see how I will react.  They know that they will get a warning call out of their name and a stern ‘NO’ to remind them that they should not touch.  If they choose to ignore me, which does occasionally happen, then they get yelled at.  And usually tears ensue, then we cuddle and make up, explain that its dangerous and move on.   Until the next time.

There is no right way to parent, we all do it in our own way and we learn from our mistakes.  For most of us parenting is the biggest learning curve in the shortest space of time and we have to learn to adapt.  Sometimes I just wish people would keep this in mind before telling everyone else they are doing it wrong.

2 thoughts on “Parenting

  1. Your right Kate we have to do it our own way. Otherwise we would all be pretty boring. I too have yelled a few more times than needed the last week or two – for us this time of year is hard financially and that always put the biggest strain on us all. But like you a cuddle and some reassurance works wonders and the reminder to oneself to not take it out on the children.

    PS I dont even give a warning with powercords I just go straight to yelling out no! My children like to live on the edge sometimes!

Leave a Reply

