Holiday

Those of you who follow me on facebook will know that I have been away with my family for a few days.  It was only a 3 night trip but it was one we all really needed and that I think we all really enjoyed.  Usually with holidays I plan really far in advance but because this was a last minute trip (we were offered a heavily discounted rate and managed to negotiate it for when our little one was out of plaster) I didn’t do what I normally would.  The place we stayed was lovely and although I’m not one for sitting around hotels (or in this case holiday parks) there was so much for the boys to do that we did spend a few hours a day just enjoying what was on offer.

We didn’t do a lot.  With toddlers (or any small children for that matter) I think it’s important to do things that will keep them interested and entertained, it’s their holiday too after all.  So we skipped all the historic stuff and the wineries and spent lots of time by the beach walking, at the park playing (don’t ask me how many different parks we visited!!) and visiting the few cafes we could find that would fit our double pram.  The best part about going on holiday during the slow season (and during the week) is that everywhere is really quiet.  We didn’t have to try and squeeze into places and the beaches and parks weren’t crowded.

With my little one’s leg still injured it was really important that were extra careful with him and allowed him to set the pace.  And you should have seen him go!!  Although we took the brace with us because it didn’t fit to be used in the car seat or pram he really only wore it to sleep at night.  I had a few moments of panic when I thought he was going to rebreak it from crawling along fall speed, or pushing his walker around the park, but he was fine.  He knew when he needed to slow down and you could tell when his leg needed a break as he’d stick it out to the side like when the cast was on it and crawl along that way.  It was so cute!

Hubby got the family time he had been missing, I got a sense of relaxation from spending lots of time by the beach listening to the waves crash on the shore and the boys got to have fun.  What more could you ask for?

IMAG6151

 

3 thoughts on “Holiday

  1. Pingback: Not quite Meal planning | KCMS

Leave a Reply

